REQUEST A FREE
CONSULTATION
WITH A LAWYER
(CNESST-SAAQ-RQ-IVAC)

What is it about?

SAAQ
CNESST
IVAC
Retraite Quebec
Workplace relations
Insurance
Other

IF YOU ARE

INVOLVED IN A ROAD ACCIDENT, YOU SHOULD KNOW THAT THE SAAQ ADMINISTERS A PUBLIC SYSTEM WITHOUT TAKING LIABILITY INTO ACCOUNT.

Everyone in Quebec is entitled to compensation for physical injuries caused by a road accident, regardless of who is liable or where in the world the accident took place. Non-residents who are injured in a road accident in Quebec are eligible for compensation that is proportional to their liability, unless an agreement with their place of residence says otherwise.

YOU HAVE

THREE YEARS TO MAKE A CLAIM.

Your status at the time of the accident is very important because it affects the type and amount of compensation you are entitled to, as well as the compensation period. We have been advising and assisting members of the public with claims for 30 years. We work with a team of specialist physicians who can support you if you need to refute the SAAQ’s evidence.

WE REPRESENT OUR CLIENTS AT REVIEW AND CONCILIATION MEETINGS WITH CLAIMS AGENTS AND THE TRIBUNAL ADMINISTRATIF DU QUÉBEC (TAQ).
WHAT TO DO

IN THE EVENT OF A ROAD ACCIDENT

QUOI FAIRE
  • Call the police or carefully fill out a joint report.
  • See a doctor at a medical clinic or hospital as soon as possible. Make sure you mention any discomfort, pain or injury.
  • Call the SAAQ. They will send you a Claim for Compensation form.
  • Ask your doctor to fill out the SAAQ medical report form.
  • Make sure you obtain regular medical follow-ups. If necessary, ask to be referred to a specialist.
  • Find out your rights and obligations.
  • Be diligent about meeting all contestation deadlines.
  • Keep copies of all communications and documents, and request copies of your medical results to keep in your personal files.

SUCCESSFUL CASES

null
General Motors of Canada Ltd. v. Boyer, 2017 QCTAT 3576

In this decision, the CNESST determined that our client died from sarcomatoid malignant pleural mesothelioma caused by occupational asbestos exposure that occurred when he handled brake pads while employed by General Motors of Canada Ltd. As a result of this ruling, compensation was paid to the deceased’s estate in accordance with the Act respecting industrial accidents and occupational diseases.

null
Smith v. Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec, 2016 QCTAQ 04765

In this ruling, the Tribunal Administratif du Québec upheld our client’s appeal by setting aside the SAAQ’s decision refusing to extend the decision review period. The Tribunal determined that the client’s requests were admissible after concluding that Ms. Smith had been diligent throughout her medical and legal process and that she believed in good faith that her SAAQ file had been closed as a result of the RRQ’s decision to deem her disabled.

null
F.S. v. Retraite Québec, 2017 QCTAQ 10966

In this case, our client appealed a decision made by Retraite Québec refusing to recognize her as disabled. The evidence indicated that she had followed the treatments prescribed by her doctors, including a program for her fibromyalgia, and that she had consulted doctors specializing in pain management. The Tribunal determined that the balance of probabilities demonstrated that our client’s fibromyalgia satisfied the legal criteria for serious illness and her disability status was prolonged.

DEMANDEZ À PARLER
À UN AVOCAT
GRATUITEMENT
(CNESST-SAAQ-RQ-IVAC)

C'est à quel sujet?

SAAQ
CNESST
IVAC
Retraite Québec
Relations travail
Assurances
Autres

SI VOUS ÊTES

VICTIME D’UN ACCIDENT DE LA ROUTE, SACHEZ D’ABORD QUE LE SAAQ ADMINISTRE UN RÉGIME PUBLIC SANS TENIR COMPTE DE LA RESPONSABILITÉ.

Tous les Québécois peuvent être indemnisés pour les dommages corporels résultant d’un accident de la route, peu importe qui est responsable, et ce, partout dans le monde. Les non-résidents blessés dans un accident de la route au Québec seront indemnisés proportionnellement à leur responsabilité, à moins d’entente avec les autorités de leur lieu de résidence.

VOUS AVEZ

TROIS ANS POUR PRÉSENTER UNE DEMANDE D’INDEMNITÉ.

Votre statut au moment de l’accident est très important parce qu’il servira à déterminer le type d’indemnités auxquelles vous avez droit, les montants qui vous seront versés et la période d’indemnisation. Depuis 30 ans, nous orientons et accompagnons les gens dans leurs démarches. Nous faisons appel à une équipe de médecins-experts en mesure de vous appuyer lorsqu’il est temps de réfuter la preuve de la SAAQ.

NOUS REPRÉSENTONS NOS CLIENTS AUPRÈS DES AGENTS D’INDEMNISATION LORS DES RENCONTRES EN RÉVISION ET EN CONCILIATION AINSI QU’AU TRIBUNAL ADMINISTRATIF DU QUÉBEC (TAQ).
QUOI FAIRE

EN CAS D’ACCIDENT DE LA ROUTE?

QUOI FAIRE
  • Appelez la police ou remplissez minutieusement un constat amiable.
  • Consultez rapidement un médecin en clinique ou en centre hospitalier. N’hésitez pas à mentionner toutes les blessures ou tous les maux et malaises dont vous souffrez.
  • Communiquez par téléphone avec la SAAQ, qui vous transmettra un formulaire de demande d’indemnité à remplir.
  • Assurez-vous que le médecin remplit un rapport médical fourni par la SAAQ.
  • Assurez-vous d’obtenir un suivi médical régulier. Au besoin, demandez d’être dirigé vers un spécialiste.
  • Informez-vous de vos droits et obligations.
  • Faites preuve de vigilance quant aux délais de contestation.
  • Gardez une copie de tout ce que vous transmettez et demandez une copie de vos résultats d’examens médicaux, que vous conservez à vos dossiers personnels.

DÉCISIONS GAGNÉES

null
General Motors du Canada ltée c. Boyer, 2017 QCTAT 3576

Dans cette décision, la CNESST déclarait que notre client était bien décédé des suites d’un mésothéliome pleural malin sacromatoïde développé dans le cadre de son travail à la suite d’une exposition à de l’amiante lors de la manipulation des plaquettes de frein chez son employeur GM Motors lté. Cette décision permettait de verser les indemnités prévues à la Loi sur les accidents du travail et les maladies professionnelles à la succession du travailleur décédé.

null
Smith c. Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec, 2016 QCTAQ 04765

Dans ce jugement, le Tribunal administratif du Québec accueille le recours de notre cliente en infirmant la décision rendue par la SAAQ, qui refusait de prolonger le délai de révision des décisions rendues. Le Tribunal déclare que les demandes sont recevables en jugeant que madame Smith a été diligente tout au long de ses démarches médicales et légales et que c’est de bonne foi qu’elle a cru que la décision de la RRQ terminait son dossier de la SAAQ en la reconnaissant invalide.

null
F.S. c. Retraite Québec, 2017 QCTAQ 10966

Dans ce dossier, notre cliente a contesté une décision de Retraite Québec, qui refusait de la reconnaitre invalide. La preuve démontre qu’elle a suivi les traitements recommandés par ses médecins, qu’elle a suivi un programme pour sa fibromyalgie et qu’elle a rencontré des médecins spécialisés dans la douleur. Le Tribunal est d’avis que la preuve prépondérante démontre que la fibromyalgie de madame satisfait le critère de gravité de la loi et qu’il est démontré que son invalidité est prolongée.